Understand India Famous People

Yash Chopra

Yash Chopra was an Indian director and film producer who worked in Hindi films and is considered among the best Indian filmmakers

Divya Bharti

Divya Bharti was an Indian film actress, who starred in a number of Hindi and Telugu motion pictures in the early 1990s.


Sridevi born as Shree Amma Yanger Ayyapan was an Indian actress and producer, who worked in Tamil, Hindi, Telugu, Malayalam and Kannada films.

Smita Patil

Smita Patil was an Indian actress of film, television and theatre. Patil appeared in over 80 Hindi, Marathi and Malayalam films in a career that spanned just over a decade.

Bhupen Hazarika

Bhupen Hazarika, famously known as Sudhakantha was an Indian playback singer, lyricist, musician, singer, poet and film-maker from Assam.

M. G. Ramachandran

M. G. Ramachandran was an Indian actor and politician who served as the CM of Tamil Nadu.

Dadasaheb Phalke

Dadasaheb Phalke, also known as the Father of Indian cinema was an Indian producer-director-screenwriter.

Saeed Jaffrey

Saeed Jaffrey was an Indian-British actor whose versatility and fluency in multiple languages allowed him to work in radio, stage, film and television all across America, Britain, and India.

Satyajit Ray

Satyajit Ray was an Indian filmmaker, screenwriter, music composer, graphic artist, lyricist and author.

Guru Dutt

Guru Dutt was an Indian film director, producer and actor.

Prithviraj Kapoor

Prithviraj Kapoor was a pioneer of Indian theatre and of the Hindi film industry, who started his career as an actor in the silent era of Hindi cinema.

Dev Anand

Dev Anand, was a noted Indian film actor, writer, director and producer known for his work in Hindi cinema